This is the "Home" page of the "Conference Proceedings and Meeting Abstracts" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Conference Proceedings and Meeting Abstracts   Tags: abstracts, conference, meeting, proceedings  

How to find and cite research from a conference or professional meeting
Last Updated: Nov 17, 2016 URL: http://med.cornell.libguides.com/conferences Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What's in a name?

Your conference is another person's symposium. Here are synonyms that you might want to consider while searching:

  • Meeting
  • Workshop
  • Symposium / symposia
  • Seminar
  • Colloquy / colloquia / colloquium
  • Roundtable
  • Congress
  • Convocation
  • Convention
  • Assembly
  • Forum
  • Panel
  • Caucus
  • Exhibition

Citing Conferences

Chapter 3 of the National Library of Medicine's style guide shows you how to cite an entire conference, while Chapter 12 does the same for papers and posters presented at meetings.

      
     

    Introduction

    Finding research presented at a conference can be a challenge. Why? Here are three key reasons:

    • Not all conference organizers publish their material, either in print or online. If they do, they may restrict access or distribution to conference attendees or members of the sponsoring society.
    • If they publish online, they may not maintain an archive beyond a current year; if they publish in print, it may take several years or be available only in a format not collected by most libraries.
    • Databases may ignore conference materials - for example, PubMed only records the overall title of a journal's meeting supplement, not the individual abstracts - or index only certain types.

    Undiscouraged? For recent conferences, first try googling the conference name or organizer. If you're lucky, you will get immediate access to the conference materials. If you're unsuccessful or are looking for older conferences, try one of the databases listed below.

    If the Library does not have access to the full text, you may request it on interlibrary loan through our TripSaver service.

    Databases that index conference materials

     

    • BIOSIS Previews  
        
      Tip: Refine search results by Literature Types: Meeting Abstract
    • CABI: CAB Abstracts  
        
      Tip: Refine search results by Document Types: Conference Paper or Conference Proceedings
    • EMBASE  
        
      Tip: Limit search results by conference abstract or conference paper or conference review or conference proceeding
    • F1000 Posters  
        
      Open repository for posters and slides
    • Google Scholar  
        
    • NLM Gateway - Meeting Abstracts  
        
      Meeting abstracts in the areas of AIDS, health services research, and space life sciences, 1986-2010 only.
    • PapersFirst  
        
      Tip: Author and/or title searches yield best results
    • ProceedingsFirst  
        
      Tip: Look in Table of Contents field for list of individual meeting materials
    • Scopus  
        
      Tip: Limit search results by Document Type: Conference Papers or Source Type: Conference Proceedings
    • Web of Science  
        
      Tip: Refine search results by Document Types: Meeting Abstract or Proceedings Paper

    Conference Tools

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip