Skip to Main Content

EndNote: Desktop Client

EndNote Quick Reference Guide


The following FAQ is outlined for a Mac interface. The workflow on a PC is slightly different.

 

SYNCING ENDNOTE WEB AND ENDNOTE DESKTOP

  • In the desktop client, go to Preferences – Sync and enter your EndNote Web email address and password.
  • The sync process may take a while, depending on how large the library is.
  • Once you’ve set up your preferences, the Sync button on the main desktop client interface (two circular arrows) syncs the two platforms.
  • You can also set your libraries to sync automatically.

 

 

IMPORTING REFERENCES FROM PUBMED

  • In PubMed, Select the references you wish to send.
  • Click “Send to” – "Citation manger" at the top of the page, below the search box.
  • Click "Create file." 
  • Open downloaded file. Or, in EndNote, go to File – Import – and choose the downloaded file. Make sure RIS is your import option.
  • References will automatically be sorted into the “Imported References" and "Unfiled."

 

FINDING FULL TEXT

  • Go to Preferences - Find Full Text - Authenticate With - URL and paste: 

 https://login.ezproxy.med.cornell.edu/login?url= 

  • This will allow you to use your Weill privileges to access full text.

  • Highlight the references for which you’d like to find full text.
  • Go to References – Find Full Text – Find Full Text. Or, Right Click – Find Full Text – Find Full Text
  • On your My Library bar, a “Searching…” dialog will appear while EndNote looks for PDFs. This will take time depending on how many references you’ve selected. 
  • Once it has finished, the “Searching…” dialog will disappear, replaced with “Found PDF” and “Not found” tabs. 
  • References with PDFs found will have a small paper clip appear next to the entry. The full text is now attached to that entry.

INSTALLING "CITE WHILE YOU WRITE" FOR MICROSOFT WORD

  • In Endnote, go to your Customizer

  • Make sure that the Cite While You Write box is checked. Click Next and go through the installer. Word will need to be closed for the installer to finish.

  • In Word, you should now see and EndNote tab on your toolbar.

 

INSERTING ENDNOTE REFERENCES INTO A WORD DOC – "CITE WHILE YOU WRITE"

  • In your Word Doc, place your cursor at the end of the sentence where you want the citation to go 

  • On the EndNote X9 tab in Word (Microsoft Office v2016 or later), click on "Insert Citation" 

  • The “Find & Insert My References” dialog box will appear. Type a keyword from the reference you want to insert (author name, publication year, etc.). Press the Return key to search. 

  • Find the reference you want from the list of results and click “Insert.” This creates an in-text citation as well as a final bibliography entry.  

  • You can change the output style of the entire document by selecting a different style from the drop-down menu on the EndNote toolbar. 

 

 

CONVERTING TO PLAIN TEXT

  • Before sending manuscripts to a colleague or publisher, you might want to break the connection with EndNote and remove the EndNote coding. 

  • On the EndNote X9 tab in Word, go to Tools – Convert to Plain Text. 

  • This will create a new, separate document without EndNote's markup. Your in-text citations and final bibliography will remain, but are no longer linked to EndNote. You can now make manual edits to the reference list if you choose. 

  • It's important to save the original document with the EndNote markup as well, so you that you can edit citations in the future if need be.