Welcome to RefWorks
RefWorks is a web-based bibliography and database management tool that allows you to store, organize, and share your information. You can also do the following with RefWorks:
- Store an unlimited amount of records
- Access your data from any computer with a link to the Internet
- Import files from a variety of online databases
- Export references from other bibliographic management systems
- Collaborate with members of the Cornell community as well as with other researchers, faculty, and students from other institutions
- Format bibliographies and manuscripts in seconds
- Attach files
Learn RefWorks in 20 Minutes
Overview of RefWorks 2.0
The new look and feel of RefWorks 2.0 is clean and more intuitive which will enhance your overall experience using RefWorks. Pages load faster and RefWorks now uses "lightbox" technology to replace traditional pop-up windows.
What's New in RefWorks 2.0?
All the functionality you love about RefWorks is still available in the new interface -- what has improved is how you access these features and functions.
2 Main (Tabbed) Sections
When you first log in to RefWorks-2.0, you will see your references (as in the classic interface), however, there are now two tabbed functional areas related to references:
1. References Area - this is still where you view and manage individual references which we have improved:
Individual Reference Action Bar
When you are viewing your references (all references, a folder of references or search results) you will notice that every reference has its own Action Bar. The icons in the Action Bar identify certain functions:
View - clicking on View displays the full reference (only the fields with information will display)
Cite - displays the Citation Viewer used by One Line/Cite View to insert temporary citation placeholders into a document.
Edit - allows you to edit the existing reference information.
Add to My List - allows you to place the selected reference in the My List temporary folder.
Attachments - indicates files are attached to the reference. When you mouseover the attachment icon, the file name(s) appear. Clicking on a specific file name will launch the file (provided you have the appropriate software to view the file on your computer).
Comments - displays any comments made by others who access your shared references.
In addition to the individual reference action bar, below the standard information (Title, Author, Source) you will now see two new items:
Folders - if the reference is stored in a folder (or folders) you will see the folder name(s) listed. You can click on a specific folder name to access all the references in that folder. This is an option that you select from the Customize area.
Link Resolver - if your organization uses a link resolver, you will see either the name or a logo for the link resolver. Clicking on that link or icon may provide you with access to the full text of an article or identify if that reference is available locally at your organization. This option must be established by your local RefWorks Administrator in the RefWorks Administrator Tool.
Reference Field Grouping
When adding a new reference or editing an existing one, AccuCite users will now see the fields recommended by their potential output style grouped together (instead of being dispersed through the 66 available fields of information per reference). These recommended fields appear above the other available fields. If you mouse-over the field name, the field-specific comments for your style will display. Knowing which fields of information you should have for your bibliography has gotten even easier!
2. Organize & Share Folders Area (or Organize Folders if RefShare is not enabled for your account)
The Organize & Share Folders area lets you create, manage and share folders all from the same screen.
You can also perform a duplicate check on a specific folder and create sub-folders in this area.
Improved Menu Navigation
We have streamlined our main menu navigation with more intuitive feature groupings.
The main menu area and sections are:
References - Includes Add New (for adding a new reference manually), Import and Export
View - View Folder, Saved Search Results, View Shared Area (if implemented for your organization), All References, My List, Duplicates (Exact and Close) and Deleted
Search - Advanced, By Author, By Descriptor, By Periodical, Online Catalog or Database, RSS Feeds
Bibliography - Create, Output Style Manager, Output Style Editor, Preview Output Style
Tools - Write-N-Cite, RefGrab-It, Backup/Restore
Help - Tutorials, Launch Help File, Quick Start Guide, Request (Import Filter, Output Style, Z39.50 Connection)
In addition to the menu bar commands, the Quick Search box (with the option to search attachments) is readily available.
Two areas are now available as links in the upper right-hand corner of your screen:
Update Profile - Access to your individual account information (password, email address, etc.).
Customize - Set preferences for viewing, folders, user definable fields and more.
Other Enhancements in RefWorks 2.0:
Quick Access Bar
A Quick Access bar is displayed on the right side of the screen providing one-click access to folders and subfolders, certain features and helpful resources as well as displaying statistics about your RefWorks account and important notifications and messages from RefWorks and your Organization.
Want more viewing room on the screen? You can hide the Quick Access bar at any time by clicking on the Close tab.
RefWorks is compatible with the following:
- Internet Explorer Version 7.0 or later (Windows only)
- Firefox 3.X or later (Windows, Mac and Linux)
- Safari 3 and later (Mac)
- Google Chrome (Windows only) Note: RefGrab-It does not work with Google Chrome
- Word for Windows 2000 or later
- Word for Mac 2004 or later
- You can also use any word processor including Ami-Pro, FrameMaker, OpenOffice, StarOffice, Word Perfect or any other program which allows you to save your files as RTF.
Note: Write-N-Cite is only compatible with MS Word. All other word processing software users should use One Line/Cite View for their documents
Write-N-Cite 4 for Windows is compatible with the following applications:
Microsoft Word 2007, 2010 and 2013 (local installations of 2013 only)
Windows XP, Vista, Windows 7 and 8.
Write-N-Cite 4 for Macintosh is compatible with the following applications:
- Microsoft Word for Mac 2008 and 2011
- Mac OS X version 10.6, 10.7 & 10.8 (Snow Leopard, Lion & Mountain Lion)
Write-N-Cite for Hangul is compatible with the following applications:
- Windows XP and newer versions.
- Specialized for Hangul versions 2007 and later.
RefWorks is compliant with Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act (U.S.). Screen readers such as MS Narrator or JAWS should automatically detect the compliant interface.