Pediatrics: Resources

• Biomedical Databases
• Differential Diagnosis Tools
• Filtered Databases
• Synopses
• AccessMedicine

Evidence in these resources may vary from expert opinion to high levels of evidence.

• ACP Journal Club - ACP Journal Club summarizes the best new evidence for internal medicine from over 130 clinical journals. Once a bimonthly stand-alone journal, ACP Journal Club is now a monthly feature of Annals of Internal Medicine.
• BMJ Best Practice - Medical resource for informing treatment decisions and improving patient care.
• DynaMed - Evidence-based clinical reference tool for use at the point-of-care.
• National Guideline Clearinghouse - A comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents.
• UpToDate - Online resource designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily practice. Mobile App and site available.
• Trip Database  - Designed for rapid identification of the highest quality evidence for clinical practice, Trip can be searched in PICO format.

Filtered resources appraise the quality of studies and often make recommendations for practice.

• The Cochrane Library - A collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making
• PubMed Clinical Queries - Specialized search filters: Clinical Study Categories (etiology, diagnosis, therapy, prognosis, and clinical guidelines), Systematic Reviews, and Medical Genetics.  

• VisualDx - Build differentials with symptoms and images to make a visual diagnosis. Access visualDX Web from the Library's e-resources and create a personal account.
• Trip Database - Designed for rapid identification of the highest quality evidence for clinical practice. Can be searched in PICO format.

Evidence is not always available via filtered resources. Searching the primary literature may be required. 

• CINAHL - Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health. disciplines.
• ClinicalKey - Includes resources from Medline as well as well as clinical monographs, drug information, guidelines, and patient education materials. It is also an excellent source for medical images.
• EMBASE - A biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, and more.
• MEDLINE (Available through Ovid or PubMed) - Access over 21 million citations and abstracts covering fields of biomedicine and health.
• Scopus - Citations and abstracts to more than 18,500 titles in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields.
• Web of Science - Science, Social Science Citation Indexes.

Citations with the  button offer immediate access to full-text.

• AccessPediatrics covers pediatric practice from neonatology through adolescent medicine. Important support tools include a list of top pediatric textbooks, as well as extensive review material for board exams.