This is the "Home" page of the "Geriatrics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Geriatrics  

Last Updated: Sep 12, 2016 URL: http://med.cornell.libguides.com/geriatrics Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

Welcome to the Geriatrics Research Guide! We hope you find information on this site helpful. 

 

Online Resource Spotlight

 

Continuing Education

HealthinAging.org - "Overseen by a team of experts on caring for older adults, HealthinAging.org content is based on resources that the American Geriatrics Society has developed for its professional members."

POGOe - "The Portal of Geriatrics Online Education (POGOe) is free collection of expert-contributed geriatrics educational materials for educators and learners. Our materials are available digitally and use various teaching methods ... Our mission is to encourage the free exchange of teaching and assessment materials in order to promote geriatrics education in the fields of geriatrics and gerontology."

 

Resources

AgeSource & AgeStats Worldwide - "These two databases have been created by AARP to facilitate the international exchange of policy and program-relevant information in aging. AgeSource Worldwide‚Ą† identifies several hundred information resources in some 25 countries which are significant either in size or in their unique coverage of particular aging-related issues. The resources include, among others, clearinghouses, libraries, databases, training modules, major reports, and Web metasites."

AgingStats.Gov - "The Federal Interagency Forum on Aging-Related Statistics (Forum) was initially established in 1986, with the goal of bringing together Federal agencies that share a common interest in improving aging-related data. The Forum has played a key role by critically evaluating existing data resources and limitations, stimulating new database development, encouraging cooperation and data sharing among Federal agencies, and preparing collaborative statistical reports."

Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) - "This database is designed to meet the information needs of the caring professions, and spans the literature of health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. The database abstracts and indexes over 500 journals, from more than 16 countries."

CDC: National Center for Health Statistics - "The mission of the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is to provide statistical information that will guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people. As the Nation's principal health statistics agency, NCHS leads the way with accurate, relevant, and timely data."

MedEdPORTAL Publications - "is a free publication service provided by the Association of American Medical Colleges in partnership with the American Dental Education Association. MedEdPORTAL Publications maintains a rigorous peer review process based on standards used in the scholarly publishing community."

NIH: Health Statistics - "The Health Statistics and Numerical Data subject guide includes some of the major sources of health and general statistics in the United States and a brief list of international resources."

Pallaitive Care Training - "The Center to Advance Palliative Care (CAPC) is a national organization dedicated to increasing the availability of quality palliative care services for people facing serious illness."

 

Patient Information

healthfinder.gov - "healthfinder.gov content syndication lets you add easy-to-read, actionable, and evidence-based health information to your website. This free service from the National Health Information Center provides award-winning content from our Health Topics A to Z content. Content syndication is easy to use and maintenance-free. You can even customize the content to match your website’s look and feel."

Medicare.gov - "Learn about how Medicare is funded through 2 trust accounts held by the U.S. Treasury: the Hospital Insurance Trust Fund (which pays for Medicare Part A, inpatient hospital care, skilled nursing facility care, home health care, hospice care, and combating fraud and abuse), and the Supplementary Medical Insurance Trust Fund (which pays for Medicare Part B outpatient health care and Medicare Part D prescription drug coverage)."

MedlinePlus: End of Life Issues -  "MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free."

MedlinePlus: Seniors' Health - "MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free."

NIHSeniorHealth - "Makes aging-related health information easily accessible for family members and friends seeking reliable, easy to understand online health information. This site was developed by the National Institute on Aging (NIA) and the National Library of Medicine (NLM) both part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). NIHSeniorHealth features authoritative and up-to-date health information from Institutes and Centers at NIH."

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip