- Next-generation DNA sequencing method
- Mardis R. A decade's perspective on DNA sequencing technology. Nature, 470:198-203.2011
- Metzker M. Sequencing technologies - the next generation.Nature Genetics, 11: 31-46.2010
- Stein L. The case for cloud computing in genome informatics.Genome Biology, 11: 207-213.2010
Human Genome Project Resources
- Human Microbiome Science: Vision for the Future - overview of NIH-supported microbiome research
- From Double Helix to Human Sequence - and Beyond - archive of the scientific symposium hosted by NHGRI, NIH, and DOE (2011)
- The NHGRI Genome Sequencing Program (GSP) - portal on program history, data access and release policies, sequencing policies, Large-Scale Genome Sequencing and Analysis Centers, Centers for Mendelian Genomics, Clinical Sequencing Exploratory Research, Genome Sequencing Informatics Tools
- The Human Genome: A Decade of Discovery, Creating a Healthy Future - online archive of the science reporters’ workshop devoted to the 10th anniversary of completion of the draft sequence of the human genome (2010). The site contains video, background material, and presentation slides of the National Human Genome Research Institute
- NCBI Human Genome Project - comprehensive human genome resources
- HuRef Genome Browser. J. Craig Venter Institute
- Welcome Trust Sanger Institute Scientific Resources – software, databases, services and technologies, data download, clone requests, talks and training, and scientific publications
Genomic Variation and Analysis
- The Single Nucleotide Polymorphism Database (dbSNP) of Nucleotide Sequence Variation. (2011). Kitts, A & Sherry, S
- Modern genetic analysis: integrating genes and genomes. (2002). Griffiths, A
- Genetic variation and human disease: principles and evolutionary approaches. (1993). Weiss, K
- Genetic variation: methods and protocols. (2010). Barnes, M & Breen, G.
- Genome wide association studies and genomic prediction. (2013). Gondro, C., Werf, J., Hayes, B
- An Introduction to Next-Generation Sequencing Technology. Illumina
- International HapMap Project
Books and Reference Material
- Molecular Cell Biology. Lodish, H., Berk, A., Zipursky, S., Matsudaira, P., Baltimore, D., and Darnell, J. (2007). New York: W. H. Freeman.
- Molecular Biology of the Cell. Alberts, B., Johnson, A., Lewis, J., Raff, M., Roberts, K., and Walter, P. (2007). New York: Garland Science.
- Essentials of Nucleic Acid Analysis. Keer, Jacquie T. & Birch, Lyndsey. (2008). Royal Society of Chemistry
- Encyclopedia of genetics, genomics, proteomics, and bioinformatics. Hoboken, N.J.(2005) John Wiley & Sons Ltd.
- DNA and Biotechnology. Fitzgerald-Hayes, Molly & Reichsman, Frieda. (2010). Elsevier
- Textbook of Biochemistry with Clinical Correlations. Devlin, T. (2010). John Wiley and Sons
- Molecular Cloning - Green, M & Sambrook, J. (2012). Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Press
- Current Protocols in Molecular Biology
Biomedical Literature Informatics
Request a consultation or schedule customized workshops on biomedical literature searching.
Online Learning Resources
- Learn. Genetics – online genetic learning portal focused on aspects of genetic principles, technology, epigenetics, variation, and virtual labs. (Genetic Science Learning Center, The University of Utah)
- The Medical Biochemistry – electronic resource on biochemistry fundamentals
- Interactive Concepts in Biochemistry - Boyer, R. (2002). John Wiley & Sons Publishers, Inc. - instructional resources on concepts in biochemistry
- DNA from the beginning - interactive online portal focused on classical genetics, molecular genetics, and genetic organization and control. The site utilizes animation, image gallery, video interviews, problems, biographies, and links to explain genetic concepts
- Glossary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology - online portal on bioscience terms for molecular biologists and biochemist
- Genome TV - archival videos focusing on science, research, programs of the National Human Genome Research Institute, created and produced by Genome Productions, a part of the Communications and Public Liaison. Courtesy of National Human Genome Research Institute.
- History of Molecular Biology and Biotechnology - comprehensive historical resources by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory
- Primer on Molecular Genetics. DOE Human Genome Program. 1992.
- Human Genome Archive - comprehensive archive of the U.S. Human Genome Project
- The Rosalind Franklin Papers - National Library of Medicine's Profiles in Science®
- Francis Crick Papers. The Discovery of the Double Helix, 1951-1953: Documents National Library of Medicine's Profiles in Science®
- James Watson, Francis Crick, Maurice Wilkins, and Rosalind Franklin
- Ethical, Legal and Social Implications (ELSI) Research Program
Bioinformatics Library Guide
- Bioinformatics - listing of key bioinformatics databases, analytical tools, protocols, and resources
Interactive Electronic Molecular Biology Tutorials
- Biointeractive - interactive learning in biochemistry, molecular biology, chemistry, gene expression, biotechnology, brain, cancer, and other medical fields
- The National Human Genome Research Institute Education and Training Videos - training videos about genomics and genetic science.
- Molecular Movies - collection of cellular and molecular animations, 3D tutorial for biologists, Molecular Maya toolkit