Welcome to the Food and Nutrition Research Guide! We hope you find information on this site helpful.
Online Resource Spotlight
MedlinePlus - "MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free."
Reading Labels - Here are some helpful resources that can assist you on reading food labels on packages
FoodSafety.gov - "FoodSafety.gov is the gateway to food safety information provided by government agencies."
CDC: Foodborne Illness Surveillance, Response, and Data Systems - Reports trends in foodborne infections and tracks the impact of food safety policies nationally
CDC: Food Allergies in Schools - The CDC offers useful information on managing food allergies in a school setting.
Evidence-Based & Statistics
BioMed Central - "BMC is a STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher with a large portfolio of peer-reviewed open access journals. Our journals span all areas of biology, medicine and health, including broad interest titles such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine alongside specialist journals, such as Malaria Journal and BMC Infectious Diseases."
Nutrition Evidence Library (NEL) - The NEL "collaborates with stakeholders and leading scientists to conduct a wide range of systematic review projects to inform federal nutrition policy and programs. The systematic review process used by the NEL seeks to objectively gather, organize, evaluate, describe, and synthesize research to answer important food- and nutrition-related questions. These systematic reviews are fully documented and available on the USDA Nutrition Evidence Library (NEL) website."
Evidence Analysis Library (EAL) - "is a synthesis of the best, most relevant nutritional research on important dietetic practice questions housed within an accessible, online, user-friendly website. An objective and transparent methodology is used to assess food and nutrition-related science."
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database - "is made up of multiple databases. The core database contains the detailed, evidence-based monographs on individual natural ingredients (e.g., glucosamine, echinacea, etc). There are currently almost 1,100 monographs on these individual natural ingredients."
Global Index Medicus - "The Global Index Medicus (GIM) provides worldwide access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low- and middle- income countries. The main objective is to increase the visibility and usability of this important set of resources.The material is collated and aggregated by WHO Regional Office Libraries on a central search platform allowing retrieval of bibliographical and full text information."
Structured Evidence Queries (SEQs) - "The National Library of Medicin (NLM), National Institutes of Health (NIH), and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, have worked together to develop preformulated search strategies (structured evidence queries) that search high-quality, peer-reviewed scientific literature to identify research evidence for selected Healthy People 2020 objectives."
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System - "The Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) is the nation's premier system of health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services."
National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey - "The National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) is a program of studies designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States. The survey is unique in that it combines interviews and physical examinations."
PAIS International - "This resource covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. PAIS International is the current file covering 1972 to present, and PAIS Archive includes the content from printed volumes published 1915-1976."
The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation - The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation serves "as a non-partisan source of facts, analysis and journalism for policymakers, the media, the health policy community and the public."
State of Obesity - "The State of Obesity (formerly F as in Fat) has raised awareness about the seriousness of the obesity epidemic, encouraged the creation of a national obesity prevention strategy and highlighted promising approaches for reversing the epidemic at the state and local level."