As you navigate your way through your Area of Concentration track, know that the library is here as an excellent resource to help you throughout this process. Below is a portal to subject guides and services that will help with your AoC. If you can’t find what you’re looking for, be sure to reach out to the library at email@example.com, or stop by the library to chat in person:
Monday - Thursday: 8 a.m. - 12 a.m.
Friday: 8 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Saturday: 10 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Sunday: 12 p.m. - 12 a.m.
The 24/7 Study Room is only available to WCM medical, graduate and PA students, clinical fellows, and residents. For you, this space is accessible day or night, 365 days a year.
EndNote - EndNote is bibliographic management software which allows you to search online bibliographic databases, organize your references, and create bibliographies instantly. This guide introduces the basic and most used functions of the latest version of Endnote.
F1000Workspace - F1000 Workspace is a browser-based platform where Weill Cornell affiliates can collect, manage, cite, write, and discuss scientific literature privately and via shared projects with peers.
Mendeley - Mendeley is a desktop and web program for managing and sharing research papers, discovering research data and collaborating online. It combines Mendeley Desktop, a PDF and reference management application (available for Windows, Mac and Linux) with Mendeley Web, an online social network for researchers.
Preparing To Publish - Publishing should be the least stressful part of the academic process, but for many getting work from completion to publication is a major headache. Learn the tricks to translating your findings as smoothly as possible.
Systematic Reviews - This guide defines and describes the characteristics of systematic reviews, articulate their importance and place them on the the pyramid of evidence for you. Learn to search on the PubMed Clinical Queries page and also use the Wiley Cochrane Library tool. Start here to think about if you want to write a systematic review.
NIH Public Access Policy, MyNCBI, and NIH Biosketch - Is your published research funded by NIH? If so, there are many requirements that you, as a fundee, are required to do to continue receiving funding. These include, among others, depositing your papers into PubMed Central, maintaning a MyNCBI profile, and generating a Biosketch. This guide provides guidance and best practices to make these processes as simple as possible.
PubMed and OVID Medline - PubMed is comprised of citations from the MEDLINE database as well as other life science journals and online books not included in MEDLINE. MEDLINE contains over 27 million references in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine, covering years 1946 to present from over 5,000 journals in numerous languages. Think you know how to effectively search all of this? Think again! This guide contains tips and tricks to help you build an accurate and efficient search strategy, in addition to introducing you to some of the more esoteric NCBI features.
Browzine - BrowZine is a free application from Third Iron that allows users to browse, read, and monitor journals available through the library. With BrowZine, you can create a bookshelf of your favorite journals for easy, fast access, read articles in a format optimized for a tablet device (both on and offline), and get alerts when new journal issues are published.
The library offers on-demand classes on the topics below. If you are interested in scheduling a workshop or consultation for yourself or research group, you can make a request through the website here.
EndNote: Leave behind the tedious work of formatting bibliographies. We'll teach you how to use this bibliographic management software to keep track of references, incorporate citations into papers, create bibliographies, annotate PDFs, and more.
Preparing to Publish: Getting your research published doesn't have to be as painful as it seems. We'll show you the ins-and-outs of the publishing process, from selecting a journal for submission, to formatting your manuscript, to your post-publication responsibilities (yes, you have those), and more.
PubMed Searching: PubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature, so finding targeted information can be a bit daunting. We can show you tips and tools to get the most out of this important resource, so you can stop wasting time and start searching smarter.
Browzine: Medical literature is expanding at an astounding pace and keeping up-to-date in your research area can be a challenge, but is crucial to your success. The Library offers BrowZine to simplify your current awareness reading routine. We can show you how to use Browzine to browse, read, and monitor journals available through the WCM Library from your mobile devices.
Presentation Skills and Strategies: You have become the world-leading expert on the epiglottis. Shouldn't the quality of your presentation on the flap of cartilage at the root of the tongue reflect that? In this workshop, which has a hands-on component, we go beyond the cliches and deconstruct what makes for a truly superlative presentation. (Note: may not apply to presentations on body parts that are not the epiglottis.)
Data Management: Data generated while conducting research is important now more than ever. Learn about the tools and resources available to help you stay on top of the rising tide of research data, including initial exploration, data gathering, analysis and description, and long term preservation and access.
Citation Searching: Web of Science, Scopus and Google Scholar: Want to know how often your work is referenced in other papers? Would you like to receive alerts whenever you are cited? Want to know the most frequently-cited papers on a topic of interest? Databases covered will include Web of Science, Scopus and Google Scholar, exploring the differences and strengths of each resource.
OVID Searching: See how to easily incorporate more databases into your literature search, especially EMBASE, a great complement to MEDLINE, specializing in drug literature. Search more than one database at a time, and e-mail or save your results using OVID's Citation Manager.
Introduction to Systematic Reviews: Learn more about the cornerstone of Evidence-Based Practice by defining and describing the characteristics of systematic reviews and articulate their purpose and importance in research. We will discuss how to identify and critically appraise systematic reviews. You will also become familiar with the steps to complete a systematic review, and identify systematic review guidelines and standards.
MyNCBI: New articles are constantly added to PubMed, making it difficult to keep up with the new literature. Learn how to maximize your MyNCBI account by creating alerts, saving searches, citation collections, author bibliographies & more!
Bioinformatics Service: Come and discover the tools and methods available to help you in your bioinformatics, with weekly demonstrations, one-on-one assistance, and walk-in clinics. We offer guidance with databases, software, electronic lab notebooks, sequence analysis, phylogenetic, gene expression analysis, network and pathway analysis, and data visualization.