Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NIH Public Access Policy, MyNCBI, and NIH Biosketch: MyNCBI

What is MyNCBI?

MyNCBI is a tool that retains user information and database preferences to provide customized services for many NCBI databases. It allows you to save searches, select display formats, filtering options, and set up automatic searches that are sent by e-mail. MyNCBI users can save their citations in My Bibliography and manage peer review article compliance with the NIH Public Access Policy.

MyNCBI, eRA Commons, and NIH

MyNCBI is now required by the NIH to keep track of grant-funded actions.  This will allow authors to track their compliance for funding. Below are required and recommended steps to make this as seemless as possible:

  • If not already established, PD/PIs must establish a My NCBI account to gain access to My Bibliography.
  • MyNCBI accounts must be linked to eRA Commons accounts.
    • Log in to MyNCBI using your eRA Commons login
    • Link an already existing MyNCBI account to your eRA Commons account. There is a great walkthrough here..
  • In 'My Bibliography,' change the 'Display Settings' to the following (this will allow you to quickly and confidently identify which publications require your attention):
    • View: Award
    • Sort By: Public Access Compliance

Need help managing your bibliography? Assign a delegate!

The library is availabe to act as a delegate on your behalf to populate your MyNCBI bibliography. Here's how:

  • Following the instructions in the 'Creating and Managing Your Bibliography' video above, add NIHSUPPORT@med.cornell.edu in the delegate field
  • A librarian will reach out to you to let you know when your bibliography is complete
  • Please look over your publications to ensure they are correct and complete