Embase is often used in addition to MEDLINE when conducting comprehensive literature reviews on biomedical topics. However, Embase may be your first choice when searching for certain topics or formats, such as drugs and pharmacology research, conference abstracts, or European topics. Embase contains over 22 million records spanning 1974 - present and adds over 1 million records each year.
Embase's broad biomedical scope covers:
The Allied and Complementary Medicine Database (AMED) is designed for physicians, therapists, medical researchers and clinicians looking to learn more about alternative treatments. AMED contains basic bibliographic records of relevant articles from hundreds of journals over the past 17 years. Many of the journals in AMED are not indexed by other biomedical sources. The content in AMED is produced by the Health Care Information Service of the British Library.
Subjects covered:
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) database contains comprehensive bibliographic abstracts from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences. HaPI provides information about behavioral measurement instruments, including those from Industrial Organizational Behavioral and Education.
Records contained in HaPI provide information on questionnaires, interview schedules, vignettes/scenarios, coding schemes, rating and other scales, checklists, indexes, tests, projective techniques and more.
Social Work Abstracts (SWA) produced by the National Association of Social Workers, is a comprehensive collection offering extensive coverage of more than 850 social work and human services journal dating back to 1965. SWA provides indexing and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
SWA covers subjects such as: