Welcome to the Drug Information Research Guide! We hope you find information on this site helpful.
Online Resource Spotlight
"The USP–NF is a book of public pharmacopeial standards for chemical and biological drug substances, dosage forms, compounded preparations, excipients, medical devices, and dietary supplements."
AccessPharmacy - "from McGraw-Hill Medical is designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education and practice today. Updated regularly and optimized for viewing on any device, this comprehensive, content-rich online pharmacy resource allows users to explore leading pharmacy references, search curriculum topics, research drugs and supplements."
ClinicalTrials.gov - "ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world."
Cochrane Library - "The Cochrane Library (ISSN 1465-1858) is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups."
Lexi-Comp Online (On-Campus Access Only) - "Provides information for drugs approved for use at NYP. This database includes Lexi-Interact (drug interaction module), Lexi-Drug ID (tablet and capsule identification), Lexi-CALC (medical calculators), I.V."
MICROMEDEX - is "used by clinicians to inform and educate care decisions with the goal to meaningfully improve patient outcomes. The industry standard for more than 40 years, Micromedex Solutions provide hospitals and healthcare providers with a single source of clinical information — from need-to-know drug, pediatric, disease, lab, and toxicology information to comprehensive resources for patient and consumer education. And, now hospitals can use Micromedex evidence and real-time clinical surveillance to proactively find and administer preventative care to high-risk patients to help prevent or mitigate Avoidable Drug Events, Hospital-Acquired Infections, and more."
FDA and Other Federal Agencies
ChemIDplus - "Chemical database is a dictionary of over 400,000 chemicals (names, synonyms, and structures). ChemIDplus includes links to NLM and other databases and resources, including links to federal, state and international agencies."
DailyMed - "DailyMed provides trustworthy information about marketed drugs in the United States. DailyMed is the official provider of FDA label information (package inserts). This Web site provides a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling found in medication package inserts."
Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD) - "The Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD) is a joint project of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS) and National Library of Medicine (NLM). The DSLD contains the full label contents from a sample of dietary supplement products marketed in the U.S."
Drug Information Portal - "The NLM Drug Information Portal gives users a gateway to selected drug information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine and other key U.S. Government agencies."
Drugs@FDA - "Drugs@FDA provides one place where you can search for official information about FDA approved brand name and generic drugs."
FDA Acronyms and Abbreviations - "The FDA Acronyms and Abbreviations database provides a quick reference to acronyms and abbreviations related to Food and Drug Administration (FDA) activities"
FDA Bioresearch Monitoring Information System - "In order to foster transparency and encourage information sharing within the clinical research community, FDA’s Center for Drug Evaluation and Research (CDER) maintains a bioresearch monitoring Web site that makes clinical research information available to the public."
FDA Clinical Investigator Inspection List (CLIIL) - "The Clinical Investigator Inspection List (CLIIL) contains names, addresses, and other pertinent information gathered from inspections of clinical investigators who have performed studies with investigational new drugs. The list contains information on inspections that have been closed since July 1977."
FDA Dissolution Methods - "For a drug product that does not have a dissolution test method in the United States Pharmacopeia (USP), the FDA Dissolution Methods Database provides information on dissolution methods presently recommended by the Division of Bioequivalence, Office of Generic Drugs."
FDA Drug Establishments Current Registration Site - "The Drug Establishments Current Registration Site (DECRS) is a database of current information submitted by drug firms to register establishments (facilities) which manufacture, prepare, propagate, compound or process drugs that are commercially distributed in the U.S. or offered for import to the U.S."
FDA Drug Approvals and Databases - "FDA's pharmaceutical reviewers maintain a helpful list of all approved products and databases used to keep track of drug regulation information."
FDA Inactive Ingredient Search for Approved Drug Products - "The Inactive Ingredient Database (IID) contains inactive ingredients present in FDA-approved drug products currently marketed for human use."
FDA National Drug Code Directory - "Drug products are identified and reported using a unique, three-segment number, called the National Drug Code (NDC), which serves as a universal product identifier for drugs. FDA publishes the listed NDC numbers and the information submitted as part of the listing information in the NDC Directory which is updated daily."
FDA Postmarket Requirements and Commitments - " This Web site is intended to provide information to the public on postmarketing requirements and commitments. The phrase postmarketing requirements and commitments refers to studies and clinical trials that sponsors conduct after approval to gather additional information about a product's safety, efficacy, or optimal use."
GENE-TOX - "Established to select assay systems for evaluation, review data in the scientific literature, and recommend proper testing protocols and evaluation procedures for these systems."
Information for Healthcare Professionals - The FDA offers clinicians "current and archival drug labels, drug approval histories, and more!"
LactMed - "The LactMed® database contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant."
Medication Guides - "Medication Guides are paper handouts that come with many prescription medicines. The guides address issues that are specific to particular drugs and drug classes, and they contain FDA-approved information that can help patients avoid serious adverse events."
Orange Book: Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations - "Since February 2005, we have been providing daily Electronic Orange Book (EOB) product information for new generic drug approvals. Daily generic updates provide the consumer with the current list of approved generic products which is important for substitution purposes. Previously, a first-time-generic product approved early in the month would not be published in the EOB for several weeks."