Background questions aim to fill in any knowledge gaps you may have, or are general clinical questions regarding a topic. They are generally questions that begin with "What," "How," "Where," or "Why."
Resources for Background Question
Access Medicine (Harrison's, Hurst's, Goodman & Gilman, Diagnostic Tests, Patient Information) - A repository of medical knowledge from internal medicine, cardiology, genetics, pharmacy, diagnosis and management, basic sciences, patient care, and more. Continuously expanding, all databases in the repository contain the latest editions of selected medical titles
ClinicalKey - ClinicalKey includes the MDConsult database but with expanded content including hundreds of additional eBooks, eJournals, guidelines, videos, images, First Consult, Procedures Consult, and more.
DynaMed - DynaMed is an online clinical reference for use at the point-of-care and contains thousands of evidence-based clinical summaries.
GoogleScholar- A freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.
MEDLINEPlus - National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it contains information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in simple language. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
MICROMEDEX- Contains AAPCC Codes in POISINDEX, Alternative Medicine, Calculators, DISEASEDEX Emergency Medicine, DISEASEDEX General Medicine, DRUGDEX, Imprint Codes in Identidex, Interaction Checking, IV Compatibility, Lab Advisor, MARTINDALE, MSDS from USP, Paitent CareNotes, PDR, POISINDEX Managements, and TOMES. A version for mobile devices is available.
Pubmed - Provides access to over 21 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
STAT!Ref- Provides access to information in latest editions of medical, chemical and pharmacological texts, dictionaries and indexes.
Stedman's Dictionary (in STAT!Ref) - This comprehensive dictionary of medical words and phrases is intended for use by health-care consumers, students, and professionals as well as anyone who wants to keep up with the burgeoning new terminology found in today's medical news. Entry words are clearly defined, up-to-date, and free of confusing jargon.
Trip Database- Clinical search engine. Its primary function is to help clinicians identify the best available evidence with which to answer this clinical questions. Its roots are firmly in the world of Evidence-based medicine.
UpToDate- A practical clinical reference, contains the equivalent of 40,000 pages of original, peer-reviewed text which provides specific, practical recommendations for diagnosis and treatment.
