This is the "Home" page of the "Grant Writing " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Grant Writing  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2017 URL: http://med.cornell.libguides.com/GrantWriting Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Weill Cornell Medical College

Weill Cornell Medical College, Cornell University's medical school located in New York City, is committed to excellence in research, teaching, patient care and the advancement of the art and science of medicine, locally, nationally and globally. The Weill Cornell Graduate School of Medical Sciences was founded on the premise that the convergence of two great institutions, Weill Cornell Medical College and the Sloan-Kettering Institute, could offer exceptional training for future generations of biomedical researchers. Physicians and scientists of Weill Cornell are engaged in cutting-edge research from bench to bedside, aimed at unlocking mysteries of the human body in health and sickness and toward developing new treatments and prevention strategies. Weill Cornell is the birthplace of many medical advances, including the development of the Pap test for cervical cancer, the synthesis of penicillin, the first successful embryo-biopsy pregnancy and birth in the United States, the first clinical trial of gene therapy for Parkinson's disease, and most recently, the world's first successful use of deep-brain stimulation to treat a minimally conscious, brain-injured patient. Weill Cornell Medical College is affiliated with New York-Presbyterian Hospital, where its faculty provides comprehensive patient care at New York-Presbyterian Hospital/Weill Cornell Medical Center. The Medical College is also affiliated with Houston Methodist Hospital and Houston Methodist Research Institute. For more information, visit weill.cornell.edu and weill.cornell.edu/gradschool/.

The Medical College is divided into 25 academic departments: nine focus on the sciences underlying clinical medicine; and sixteen encompass the study, treatment, and prevention of human diseases, and maternity care.  Faculty and students thrive in its collaborative environment, one that, since 2001, has also included The Rockefeller University in its tri-institutional programs. WCGSMS has 310 full-time faculty and offers  Ph.D. degrees in 7 Programs of Study: Biochemistry & Structural Biology; Cell and Developmental Biology; Immunology & Microbial Pathogenesis; Molecular Biology; Neuroscience; Pharmacology; and Physiology, Biophysics and Systems Biology. In addition to the 7 doctoral programs, WCGSMS also offers 5 master’s of science degrees in: Health Policy & Economics; Health Informatics; Clinical Epidemiology & Health Science Research; Clinical & Translational Investigation; and Health Science for Physician Assistants. Beyond these 12 programs, WCGSMS also partners with Memorial Sloan-Kettering and Cornell University to offer a Tri-Institutional Ph.D. in Computational Biology & Medicine and with Rockefeller University and Memorial Sloan-Kettering for our Tri-Institutional Chemical Biology Ph.D. 

Currently, WCMC provides training and education for 406 medical students (including 61 MD/Ph.D. students), and, in conjunction with the Graduate School, provides training and education for 617 graduate students (475 Ph.D. and 142 master’s degree) and 374 post-doctoral fellows. WCMC has 1519 full-time faculty distributed across 25 academic departments, institutes, and centers, focused on basic science, clinical care, or both. 

The basic science and clinical departments are located primarily along the “Corridor of Science” in Manhattan, with multiple clustered buildings between the East River and First Avenue and 63rd and 72nd Streets on Manhattan’s Upper East Side (Appendix 2).  WCMC currently has 502,055 gross square feet (GSF) of research space. Total research support is in excess of $264 million, of which $159 million represents federal government and non-federal government sponsored research grants, training grants, and fellowships.  WCMC was ranked #15 in the US News and World Report annual medical school survey in 2015. 

Source: Milana Vaynerman at Budget and Planning              

Source: Stephen Hunt at OSRA (updated July 21, 2015)

 

Clinical and Translational Science Center

The Clinical and Translational Science Center (CTSC) addresses the necessity of an integrated, comprehensive research support system that includes education, training and mentoring for clinical research investigators, coordinators and staff. The mission of the CTSC is to provide an environment that allows optimal use of our considerable multi-institutional assets and the diversity of our patient population to move translational research seamlessly from bench to bedside and to the community. The CTSC acts as a conduit through which essential resources, technological tools and education programs for all partners can be efficiently shared and managed.

Integral to Weill Cornell's Strategic Plan for Research, which was initiated seven years ago, the plan for the CTSC brought to fruition the integration of existing inter-institutional resources among neighbors on York Avenue and partner institutions in the immediate area. The resulting cluster of East Side institutions forms a unique and cohesive biomedical complex fulfilling the NIH roadmap initiative of breaking down institutional silos and barriers separating scientific disciplines to accelerate the clinical application of basic science discoveries.

This center is funded through the Clinical and Translational Science Awards (CTSAs), a national consortium that is transforming how clinical and translational research is conducted. For more information about the national CTSA consortium please visit ctsacentral.org.

Source: HPR

Source: Lyubov Tmanova

 

Library Resources

Among the many information resources available to WCMC students and faculty are the Samuel J. Wood Library and the C.V. Starr Biomedical Information Center. The library offers 24/7 access to 17,000+ e-journals, over 40,000 e-books, 200+ databases and houses over 150,000 archived physical volumes. The library is fully automated, featuring computer terminals that provide access to library collections from any networked computer and student workstation throughout the College. In addition, WCMC-Qatar, the Nathan Cummings Center at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, The Hospital for Special Surgery, The Rockefeller University and Cornell University in Ithaca collaborate to share databases, journals, and resources, effectively expanding access to available information. The librarians are faculty who offer free consults to develop strategies for locating the best biomedical evidence in peer-reviewed sources as well as gray literature. The librarians also offer a variety of services, including systematic review development, data management, and instruction in evidence-based medicine. The Library and Biomedical Information Center also includes the Myra Mahon Patient Resource Center that is commissioned to serve the healthcare information needs of patients, families, and caregivers who visit the Physicians Organization and NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital.

Source: Michael Wood

 

NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital

NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital is a 2,613 bed university teaching hospital based in New York City, the largest in New York, and jointly serves Weill Medical College and Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons. The U.S. News & World Report recognized it as the #1 hospital in New York and the #6 overall in the United States in 2014. The Hospital provides state-of-the-art inpatient, ambulatory and preventive care in all areas of medicine at its 6 major campuses: NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital/Weill Cornell Medical Center, NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital/Columbia University Medical Center, NewYork-Presbyterian/Morgan Stanley Children's Hospital, NewYork-Presbyterian/The Allen Hospital, NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital/Westchester Division and NewYork-Presbyterian/Lower Manhattan Hospital. The Hospital is also closely affiliated with NewYork-Presbyterian/Lawrence Hospital in Bronxville. The Hospital employs over 6,500 physicians holding faculty appointments at one or both medical schools and more than 15,200 non-physician healthcare providers and full-time equivalent hospital employees. NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital is one of the most comprehensive health care institutions in the world, offering the latest advances in medical and computer technology to help ensure high quality, efficient, and cost-effective healthcare.

NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital is also the flagship hospital of an extensive healthcare network, which consists of more than 150 participating organizations including 32 hospitals, 6 long-term care facilities, 12 home health agencies, 3 specialty institutes, and 97 ambulatory care centers. Through the NewYork-Presbyterian Healthcare Network, the Hospital and its affiliates provide the most comprehensive, high quality services to residents of Manhattan, Brooklyn, Queens, and the Bronx, as well as Westchester, Long Island, New Jersey, Connecticut and several upstate New York counties. More than 12,000 attending physicians provide care in The System. Each System member is an affiliate of either Weill Medical College or Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons.

Source: http://www.nyp.org/news/hospital/fast-facts.html

Source: http://nyp.org/about/facts-statistics.html 

Source: NewYork-Presbyterian's Public Affairs Department (212-821-0560 (NYP/Weill Cornell))

Source: HPR  (updated March 31, 2015)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip