My AccountOther Databases
My NCBIPubMed Clinical QueriesComparative Effectiveness Research
This is the "MEDLINE" page of the "PubMed and OVID Medline" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

PubMed and OVID Medline  

Platforms for searching MEDLINE.
Last Updated: Mar 30, 2017 URL: http://med.cornell.libguides.com/pubmedandovidmedline Print Guide RSS Updates

MEDLINE Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

National Library of Medicine

The National Library of Medicine (NLM) maintains and publishes the MEDLINE database. The most popular platforms for searching MEDLINE are PubMed and OVID.

PubMed Tutorials, Guides & Video

 

MEDLINE

MEDLINE contains over 21 million references in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine covering years 1946 to present from over 5,000 journals in numerous languages. 

Access MEDLINE via PubMed

Access MEDLINE via OvidSP

Access to PubMed is free to all.  Access to OvidSP is by subscription through the WCM Library.

Full text of both is accessible when you are on campus or via via EZProxy.

 

PubMed

PubMed - was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at NLM.

PubMed is comprised of citations from the MEDLINE database as well as other life science journals and online books not included in MEDLINE. PubMed provides access to other NCBI molecular biology resources. 

Understanding a few elements of the PubMed database structure is key to searching success and may reduce frustration. 

 

Ovid

OvidSP is a commercial platform used for searching MEDLINE, Embase, and other databases at Weill Cornell.  A few Ovid tools and concepts are covered in this guide and include:

  • use of My Account to save searches and create alerts
  • appreciation of MeSH vocabulary at work in MEDLINE on OvidSP

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Keith Mages
Contact Info
Send Email

Associate Director, Information, Education and Clinical Services

Profile Image
Diana Delgado
Contact Info
Send Email

OvidSP Tutorials & Guides

  • Ovid Support & Training Center
    Basic support information for OvidSP.
  • OvidSP Tutorials
    Brief, step-by-step overviews of the features and functionality of the OvidSP platform. They are available in a number of different formats, some include narrative voice-over in multiple languages, and cover OvidSP search modes, personal accounts, my projects, customization options, and more.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip