This COVID-19 and Health Inequities tab in the Antiracism, Diversity, and Inclusion in Medicine LibGuide was created by faculty and staff in the Samuel J. Wood Library at Weill Cornell Medicine.
This section is not a comprehensive list of all available resources, but is meant to introduce the Weill Cornell Medicine community to the topic. The list includes scholarly articles, web resources, videos, and podcasts.
The Antiracism, Diversity, and Inclusion in Medicine LibGuide will continue to be updated. If you have suggestions for additional resources, please contact library-adi-team@med.cornell.edu.
American Association for the History of Medicine: https://www.histmed.org/covid-19-teaching-resources-and-materials-for-historical-research
American Association for the History of Medicine. Pandemic, Creating a Usable Past: Epidemic History, COVID-19, and the Future of Health. May 8-9, 2020.https://www.histmed.org/epidemic-history
Archer, S. (2020). Precedents for a Pandemic: Reflections on Disease and Indigenous Communities. AHA Perspectives on History.
Chowkwanyun, M. & Reed, A. (2020). Racial Health Disparities and Covid-19 — Caution and Context. The New England Journal of Medicine, 383(3), 201-203.
Chotiner, I. (May 7, 2020). How Racism is Shaping the Coronavirus Pandemic. The New Yorker. https://www.newyorker.com/news/q-and-a/how-racism-is-shaping-the-coronavirus-pandemic
Landau, S. et al. (2020). The Importance of Equity in Contact Tracing. Lawfare. https://www.lawfareblog.com/importance-equity-contact-tracing
Schomburg Center Archives: Novel Coronavirus COVID-19 Collection - https://archive-it.org/collections/13918
Tomes, N. (April 24, 2020). Medicare for All in the Age of Coronavirus: A History of US Health Care Debates. AHA Perspectives on History. https://www.historians.org/publications-and-directories/perspectives-on-history/may-2020/medicare-for-all-in-the-age-of-coronavirus-a-history-of-us-health-care-debates
The COVID-19 Tracking Project - https://covidtracking.com/
The COVID-19 Tracking Project is a volunteer project created by The Atlantic and now includes volunteers across the United States. The Project gathers data on COVID-19 testing and patient outcomes by state, and includes 5 territories and the District of Columbia. The Project includes the COVID Racial Data Tracker which has datasets and statistics capturing how COVID-19 is disproportionately impacting communities of color.
Collins, F.S., Perez-Stable, E. J. (2020, May 4). Francis Collins: Home Edition Episode 9: Eliseo Perez-Stable on COVID-19 Health Disparities [Video]. National Institutes of Health. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mXUEVtEX4dk&feature=youtu.be
Owens, D.C., Roberts, Jr., S.K., Benjamin, R., Makalani, M. (2020, April 11). Critical Conversations: COVID-19 and the Structure of Crisis in the Black Community [Video]. Youtube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kUgaeZilGus
Sullivan, L.W. (2016, October 4). A Personal Perspective on Race, Opportunity, and the U.S. Health System [Video]. National Institute of Health. https://videocast.nih.gov/summary.asp?live=19739
