Provides information for older adults and their families or caregivers on a variety of aging-related topics and government-sponsored programs. Use to locate elder care programs. Resources elder care locator guides, elder rights & resources, national and state benefits and services for seniors, long-term care insurance and caregiver support programs.
This online community for caregivers was developed for caregivers of parents and other older adults. Provides information on the most common health related issues, financial issues, decision-making guide for housing options, an online newsletter and caregiving blogs.
Information for patients, caregivers and health professionals make this the comprehensive resource on Alzheimer's disease. Message boards and chat rooms provide support and additional information sharing.
Find educational and medical information for Parkinson patients, their families and caregivers.
Provides information on the health and care of older adults. Includes a directory of the guide to federal government agencies and national not-for-profit organizations that address the special health care needs of older adults. Other resources available:
Aging in the Know offers up-to-date information on how the aging process affects health
Eldercare at Home offers the complete text of the second edition of this resource for families and friends who are caring for older people at home
The FHA Physician Referral Guide offers to mail a list of physicians sensitive to the special healthcare needs of older adults and links to search for board certified geriatricians
Health in Aging Stories is where patients and health care providers can share their stories on the challenge of finding and providing health care for the elderly.
Provides information on services and support for caregivers and families of persons with chronic, disabling health conditions. Includes fact sheets in English, Spanish and Chinese on various conditions like dementia, Parkinson Disease and stroke. Provides statistics, public policy information, and reports. Includes caregiver advice and tips (also in Spanish and Chinese) and hosts online discussion groups.
This Caring Home (Weill Cornell Medical College)
Designed to provide caregivers strategies that enhance the safety and well-being of their loved ones. Intentionally intended for caregivers of persons with dementia, this site is also recommended for anyone caring for someone with limited mobility.
Cleveland Clinic Definitions Guide
A helpful list of words and definitions about legal and ethical decisions. This information was prepared by the Cleveland Clinic Ethics Committee.
