The Samuel J. Wood Library is committed to providing all New York - Presbyterian Weill Cornell nurses with access to health care information, databases, and affiliated services.
PubMed: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/?otool=cuwmclib
Comprises over 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.
CINAHL: http://ezproxy.med.cornell.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=cin20,cih (Note: this resource is only available in the library, or when on the NYP-WCM campus)
CINAHL provides indexing for 2,913 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1981. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. Searchable cited references for 1,150 journals are also included. Full text material includes nearly 70 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
Evidence Based Medicine Weill Cornell LibGuide: http://med.cornell.libguides.com/ebm
A curated overview of many EBP essentials including PICO Question Formulation, Levels of Evidence Pyramids, Types of Studies, and Critical Appraisal questions and resources.
Evidence-Based Nursing Practice: The PEACE Framework
Developed here at New York-Presbyterian Hospital, the PEACE Framework is a systematic method meant to facilitate evidence
based practice (EBP) review and the conduct of research utilization.
It is comprised of the following core steps:
Identify the Problem
Review Evidence
Appraise Evidence
Conduct Research OR Change Practice
Evaluate Research OR Evaluate Practice Change
The PEACE Framework was introduced in this article by Tahan, et al., published in Nurse Leader, 2016:
Tahan HM, Rivera RR, Carter EJ, Gallagher KA, Fitzpatrick JJ, Manzano WM. Evidence-Based Nursing Practice: The PEACE Framework. Nurse Leader. 2016;14(1):57-61.
DOI: http://dx.doi.org.ezproxy.med.cornell.edu/10.1016/j.mnl.2015.07.012