Data-Intensive Research: Data Collection & Organization

Following spreadsheet best practices and using databases for data collection are great ways to mitigate common problems associated with spreadsheet use and data organization. It's also important to keep the following in mind when selecting a tool for data collection.

The following data collection and organization best practices guides are provided by Cornell Data Services

• File Formats
• File Management
• Writing "readme" style metadata
• Preparing Tabular Data for Description and Archiving

• REDCap - Tool available through the CTSC that allows you to quickly create a clinical database and data input forms. Geared primarily toward manual data entry. Allows for the output of data into common statistical package formats (SPSS, R, SAS, Stata). 
• REDCap Training Resources - General overview of some of REDCap's preliminary concepts and features.
• ITS Storage and Servers - Resources and services to help researchers meet their individual computing needs
• ITS File Sharing - Large file sharing and transfer services available through WCMC ITS. All users are able to log in to use the File Transfer Service and review the File Transfer Service User Guide. 
• WCM Storage Chooser - Secure networked storage space for research data. 
• Cornell University Center for Advanced Computing - Database Design Services  
• OpenRefine - Powerful data cleaning application

The following links are located in every tab of this guide in the right-hand column for your convenience.

• Research Data Management, Retention, and Sharing - Weill Cornell guidance for data management
• Cornell Data Services - Resources and services at Cornell for data management
• DMP Tool - Creating data management plans
• REDCap - HIPAA compliant data collection 
• Architecture for Research Computing in Health (ARCH) - Secondary use of EHR data
• WCM Data Core - Secure, scalable computing and storage environment
• WCM Applied Bioinformatics Core - Computational resources, data lifecycle management and bioinformatics consulting 

Data Management for Clinical Research Free online course periodically offered through Coursera.org. Instruction via Vanderbilt University. 

Introduction to Databases Free online self study course through Coursera.org covering database design and database management systems. Instruction via Stanford University.

• Text us: 646-593-7542
• Ask a Reference Question
• Hours
• Contact Us
• Staff Directory