LibGuides: Alumni and Retirees Resources &amp; Services: Open Access Resources

Open Access Resources

While license agreements and copyright laws prevent us from offering complete access to our online library to alumni remotely, open access resources provide freely available content to a large collection of scholarly literature.

In addition to the specific resources outlined in this guide, below is a partial list of some Free and Open Access resources that are available to alumni. The has library marked over 300+ "Free" and "Open Access" items on its e-Resources A-Z page that can be accessed from any location.

Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
"DOAJ is independent. All funding is via donations, 18% of which comes from sponsors and 82% from members and publisher members. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed in DOAJ. All data is freely available."
OpenDOAR This link opens in a new window
An authoritative directory of academic open access repositories.
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
"Provides free access to biomedical research publications. These publications include biology and medicine journal articles, current reports, and meeting abstracts."
Public Library of Science (PLoS) This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed, open access scientific and medical journals that include original research as well as timely feature articles.
All PLoS articles are immediately freely accessible online, are deposited in the free public archive PubMed Central, and can be redistributed and reused according to the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
The U.S. National Library of Medicine's digital archive of life sciences journal literature.
Access to the full text of articles in PMC is free, except where a journal requires a subscription for access to recent articles."
eCommons@Cornell This link opens in a new window
Cornell University Open Access Repository.
Affiliated with Cornell University (faculty, staff, students, or groups/organizations). A place to capture, store, index, preserve and redistribute materials in digital formats that may be useful for educational, scholarly, research or historical purposes.